Fanny Hensel Concert with Susan Jane Matthews, piano

May 16 at 5:00 pm

Chamber Music of Fanny Hensel 
Susan Jane Matthews, piano
Natasha Makhijani, violin
Clio Tilton, viola
Samsun van Loon, cello

Piano Quartet in A-flat Major
Piano Solos   Allegro molto in c; Andante cantabile; Il Saltarello Romano
Piano Trio in d minor

Fanny Hensel (1805-1847) was a German pianist and composer of tremendous musical talent and skill like her famous younger brother, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy.  While Fanny’s works were heard in Sonntagsmusiken (Sunday musicales) at the Hensel home in Berlin, Felix’s reached international audiences. The painting here depicts Fanny’s music room in her home.

It is a delight to welcome members of the Chamber Music Society of San Francisco to St. Paul’s Burlingame for this concert to continue to bring to light Fanny Hensel’s chamber compositions, the Piano Quartet (1822) for piano, violin, viola, and cello and the Piano Trio (1847) for piano, violin, and cello, along with three of her works for piano solo.

A free-will donation at the concert benefits the St. Paul’s Choir School. A reception follows the concert.